Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

buying a sidewinder

Posted by clemsoner 
buying a sidewinder
August 02, 2006 06:25AM
I'm thinking about buying a sidewinder from a friend of my brother (both of whom I trust), and wondered if anyone had any advice. Keep in mind that I'm a novice to the sport - I've only sailed a sunfish a few times in Perdido Bay, Pensecola. Of course, I loved it! Here is what the owner has to say about it,
"Love those sail boats, can't stand those stink-pots. I haven't seen the boat in several years. It's a Sidewinder and, if memory serves, its 14 ft. long.
If you consider a Sunfish a "wet sailer", then the Sidewinder is a "semi-dry sailer"
It's sloop rigged with a roller reefing jib. In a decent wind, it will plane - actually, its a pretty hot little boat. My wife and I and three children have sailed in it (all at one time), but more than three people gets to be a crowd. It can be single-handed with no problem. I don't know the sail condition. I'm sure it needs a good clean-up and some TLC. Trailer needs tires (I am told). Pricing is difficult since I haven't seen it in a while, but something in the $500.00 range would take boat and trailer."
When I go to look at it, what should I be looking for, and (sight-unseen) how should I know if this is a good price? Thanks for any help, Todd
Re: buying a sidewinder
August 02, 2006 01:03PM
Hi Todd,

You will love this boat. 30 years ago I sailed a Sunfish regularly and then moved to a Sidewinder, so I know it is a good progression. You would have to learn how to handle two sails (the main and the jib) at the same time, but this is not too hard and folks in here can help you. The Sidewinder is heavier and takes longer to set up, but is so much faster than the Sunfish, especially in good wind. Get it on a broad reach in strong wind and the plane effect is fantastic.