Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Please help sidewinder centerboard (as posted on old forum)

Posted by Paul 
Please help sidewinder centerboard (as posted on old forum)
February 13, 2006 04:39AM
As originally posted by Steven:

Can someone please explain to me how this works. I have been reading for hours about it and i still dont get it. I tried sailing with the jib the other day and put it in what i thought was the forward position. I put the smaller of the pins in the forward of the two slots. But doing this raised the centerboard completly out of the water and I know that isnt right. So what is the forward slot and what is the after slot. I need this in simple terms, I am very new to this whole thing and need a bunch of help. THanks in advance!!!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/13/2006 05:10AM by Paul.
Re: Please help sidewinder centerboard
February 13, 2006 04:40AM
As originally posted by Paul:

There are two slots for the centerboard. The forward slot is used if you have both sails up. The other slot is used if you have just the main up. The reason for this is to balance the boat correctly to the sail configuration. If you think about it a bit it makes sense. With both sails up, the center of the force put onto the boat is more forward than if just the mainsail is used.

When using the forward slot the centerboard becomes a pivoting centerboard and you use a line to control its position. When you beach the boat with the centerboard in this position the centerboard will raise automatically. It pivots on the "smaller pins" that are put into the slot. The centerboard should have enough weight to automatically drop down into the water when you release the control line. If it does not do that, give it a little nudge by pulling the top of it towards the rear of the boat and it should pivot down into the water.